West Africa: List of West African Countries, Capitals, and Their Presidents

West Africa Countries: The African Continent is classified under four regions: North Africa, South Africa, East Africa and West Africa. Each region is made up of several countries that are well populated. Africans are generally referred to as ‘Blacks’.

West Africa is made up of 18 countries and a population of about 371,990,119. West Africa was mostly colonized by Great Britain and France. However, independence has swept through this region like wildfire. West Africa became liberated from British and French and finally had their autonomy in 1974.West African Countries

List of 18  West Africa Countries 

  1. Benin
  2. Burkina Faso
  3. Cape Verde
  4. The Gambia
  5. Ghana
  6. Guinea
  7. Guinea-Bissau
  8. Ivory Coast
  9. Liberia
  10. Mali
  11. Mauritania
  12. Niger
  13. Nigeria
  14. The Island of Saint Helena
  15. Senegal
  16. Sierra Leone
  17. Sao Tome and Principe
  18. Togo

The countries are united by a common body known as the Economic Community of West African States. However 3 out of the 18 countries are not members of ECOWAS, they include Mauritania, The Island of Saint Helena and Sao Tome and Principe.

Areas in Which West African Countries are located

The West African countries can be located in 4 different areas which include: Guinea, Maghreb, Sahel, Atlantic Ocean, and South Atlantic Ocean. Countries that make up each area include:

Guinea Area: Ivory Coast, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Nigeria, Sierra Leona, Sao Tome and Principe, and Togo.

Maghreb Area: this is co-inhabited by the West African groups like Fulani and Wolof, Arab-Berber Maghreb people and Soninke.

Sahel Area: Mali, Burkina Faso, Niger, and Senegal.

The Atlantic Ocean: Cape Verde which is an Island nation

South Atlantic Ocean: The Island of Saint Helena.


The List of West African Countries, Their Capitals, and Current Presidents

West African nations have close boundaries connecting them but their differences in terms of language, cultural practices, and religious beliefs are significant. Christian and Islamic religions are the 2 major religious practices in West Africa. Each country is ruled by a President.

Tabulated below is a list of West African Countries, their Capitals, and Current Presidents:

S/No. West African Countries Capitals Current Presidents
1. Benin (Republic of Benin) Porto-Novo President Patrice Talon
2. Burkina Faso Ouagadougou President Roch Marc Christian Kabore
3. Cape Verde Praia President Jorge carlos Fonseca
4. The Gambia Banjul President Adam Barrow
5. Ghana Accra President Nana Akufo-Addo
6. Guinea Conakry President Alpha Conde
7. Guinea-Bissau Bissau President Jose Mario Vaz
8. Ivory Coast Yamoussoukro President Alassane Ouattara
9. Liberia Monrovia President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf
10. Mali Bamako President Ibrahim Boubacar Keita
11. Mauritania Nouakchott President Muhamed Ould Abdel Aziz
12. Niger Niamey President Mahamadu Issoufou
13. Nigeria Abuja President Muhammadu Buhari
14. The Island of Saint Helena Georgetown Governor Lisa Phillips
15. Senegal Darkar President Macky Sall
16. Sierra Leone Freetown President Ernest Bai Koroma
17. Sao Tome and Principe Sao Tome President Manual Pinto da Costa
18. Togo Lome President Faure Gnassingbe