Fifteen Senators Dump APC… I Will Also Join- Saraki

Fifteen All Progressives Congress, (APC) senators today dumped the party for the Peoples Democratic Party, (PDP).

The senators stated their decision in a letter read out loud on the floor of the House by the Senate President, Bukola Saraki on Tuesday, July 24, 2018.APC

With fifteen senators now joining PDP, the party now holds the majority seats in the Senate.

After reading out the letter, Saraki declared he will soon dump APC for good.

Those who defected were Rabiu Kwankwaso, Kano and Abdulaziz Nyako, Adamawa, Shaaba Lafiagi, Kwara, Barnabas Gemade, Benue, Suleiman Hunkuyi, Kaduna, Monsurat Sunmmonu, Oyo; Bayero Nafada, Gombe

Abdullahi Danbaba, Sokoto, Isa Misau, Bauchi; Suleiman Nazif; Baki Shittu, Jigawa;  and Olanrewaju Tejuoso, Ogun,  Dino Melaye, Kogi; and Rafiu Ibrahim, Kwara.

The letter stated: “Dear Senate President after due consultation with our constituents and stakeholders in our constituencies, in proper recognition of section 68(1G) of the 1999 Constitution as amended and with the fact our party, the All Progressives Congress (APC) is hereby emerging factions.

“We hereby inform the Senate that we the undersigned are changing our political affiliation from the All Progressives Congress (APC) to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

“We thank you for your exemplary leadership.”

After reading the letter, Saraki also announced that Sen. Murtala Nyako has also indicated his intention to leave the APC, bringing the total number of defectors to 15.

Recall that security operatives laid siege on Saraki’s residence early hours of Tuesday, as well as on the residence of other lawmakers.

Reacting on the siege, Saraki expressed displeasure, describing it as uncalled for.

“People have the freedom of association. I have been sitting down here and more than 15 senators have decamped or defected to one party or the other. There was no siege on their residence,” he noted.